PBJ Makeup Haul · PBJ Reviews

PBJ Birthday Haul

What’s a girl to get herself for her birthday? Well when you’re getting into the beauty world, the answer’s easy — makeup.

Well. Deciding on makeup itself is easy. Deciding what makeup to get is waayyy more difficult. So here’s what I ended up getting for my birthday, either as a present or as a treat for myself!

img_20160905_222628

  • PINK SUGAR Eye Candy 2 eyeshadow palette – as I’ve said in my About page, I’m all about shopping local for makeup products. I love this palette; it’s got great everyday shades and a good mix of mattes and shimmers to create a full look. It’s also very portable since it’s slim and light, with a brush included and a nice-sized mirror. I love using it to create a nice brown smokey eye look. The shadows are smooth and apply very well, with some fallout that can be easily swept away afterwards with a fluffy brush. The pigmentation is good, although you do need to build up color on medium/dark skin.The Pink Sugar Eye Candy 1 and 2 palettes retail for Php699.00 and you can purchase them here on BeautyMNL or on the Pink Sugar website.
  • TARTE Tartelette Palette (1) – this palette is beautiful. It’s the all matte version, mostly cool-toned, making it a great complement to my Pink Sugar palette. I’ve been using it to create more dramatic smokey eye looks (like a purple one for my birthday dinner). Each color is highly pigmented and applies very smoothly – seriously, you need a light hand with these because a little product goes a long way. They’re all very blendable with minimal fallout, which can be swept away with a fluffy brush. It’s not a very portable palette, and you do need to pack brushes since this doesn’t come with its own, but it’s just so gorgeous. I’m saving up for the second one, the Tartelette In Bloom, which has warmer colors and three shimmers.
  • MAC Cosmetics Paint Pot (Soft Ochre) – with my new influx of eyeshadow palettes (hehe), I needed an eyeshadow primer to use. I picked this one over the Urban Decay or the NYX eyeshadow base because 1) my favorite beauty vloggers (aka Laura Lee and Tina Yong) both use it and 2) it actually works as an excellent spot/undereye concealer on my skin tone (who knew?). I dab it on with my finger and softly blend it out. It’s nicely tacky, which makes it an excellent base, so my eyeshadows go on beautifully and more pigmented. They stay longer too!
  • HAPPY SKIN Glam Squad liquid matte by Sarte – Happy Skin is one of my favorite local brands, and my only disappointment with them was they didn’t really have liquid lipsticks beyond their lip+cheek creams. So I was ecstatic when they partnered up with some of the Philippines’ best MUAs to create the Glam Squad line, a series of custom curated liquid matte lipsticks and eyeshadows (and some gorgeous brushes). I immediately gravitated to the lipstick by Sarte because fam, who doesn’t love a dark lipstick? Happy Skin describes it as “the perfect universal mauve”, and I adore the color. It’s deep but muted, glides on smoothly and dries quickly. It’s not tacky once it dries down, although it’s not fully transfer-proof, and it’s not too bold not to wear everyday.The Glam Squad lipsticks retail for Php 699.00 and you can purchase them online here at the Happy Skin website or at their stores (they’re available at Beauty Bar!).

All in all, I’m so so happy with what I got, and I’ve been using them all regularly in the almost-one month since. There are few better feelings than that of opening new makeup and getting the first swipe. Highly recommend all these products, especially for Pinays. Hopefully when I figure out how to take better photos, I’ll be able to show the looks I create (after much practice).

Thanks for reading!

xx
thepinaybeautyjunkie

Leave a Reply

