PBJ Blogging · PBJ Budget Beauty · PBJ Makeup Haul · PBJ Reviews

#ShopLocal – Episode 1

When I first made the PBJ Instagram account, and when I first really got into makeup in general, I promised I’d advocate for shopping local for beauty products as much as I can. So this post is focusing on the local beauty brands that I’ve discovered and enjoyed.

PINK SUGAR 

(Photographed: Eye Candy 2 palette, Honey I’m Good eyebrow kit, HD Lipstick in Butter)

My first products from Pink Sugar were their Sugar Tint lip and cheek tints because I was looking for good local matte lippies. I got them in my three standard shades: nude (Honey Bunny), red (Code Red), and dark (Vampy Vixen). The product has a creamy formula and goes on smoothly, but don’t let the word “tint” fool you – these pack a punch in terms of pigmentation. They dry down fairly quickly and not tacky, but they aren’t completely transfer-proof. They do last fairly long (4-5 hours, thereabouts) and fade evenly to a nice stain.

img_20160923_194649

I love Pink Sugar products, they’re affordable but very good quality that goes further than the price tag. Their HD and Creamy Matte lipsticks are also good, although they wear far shorter (as all bullet lipsticks do). Their packaging is very cute and their products are highly portable, which is good for touch-ups on the go. Their range of shades is very wide and great for Pinays.

Other recommendations: HD Blushes, Creamy Matte lipsticks.
Shop them online at BeautyMNL or their website, or get them at their counters in select department stores.

HAPPY SKIN

(Photographed: Shut Up and Kiss Me moisturizing matte lippie in Scene Stealer)

Happy Skin is the first local beauty brand I got into, and I’ve loved them ever since. A good chunk of my personal makeup collection comes from Happy Skin, and with good reason. All their products are of amazing quality, from their signature matte lip crayons to their recent Glam Squad line. They’re slightly pricier than Pink Sugar, but definitely worth it.

 

img_20160831_200906
I wasn’t kidding when I said “a good chunk”. 

Happy Skin’s signature matte lippies can be found in a wide rage of colors, from nudes (I own pink-y nudes The Morning After and Girl Boss) to reds (Mistletoe Kiss) to vamps (Scene Stealer). The Glam Squad line features their matte liquid lipsticks, while their Happy Skin x Love Marie collaboration features their first lip liners (yay!). The Air Sponge is, I feel, a good local (and more affordable) dupe for the Beauty Blender – it’s soft, expands well when wet, is nicely bouncy, and blends makeup out well.

The Insta Beauty Blur Cream primer is my favorite non-lippie product. I use it either on its own with finishing powder for casual days, or as a base for full makeup looks. It evens out your skin tone (and even lightly covers redness!), fills in lines or dips, blurs out imperfections, and smoothens your complexion. It only comes in one universal shade that melts and adjusts to your skin tone, which means no worries if your face is too light or dark. Blend it out with your fingers or their Air Touch Sponge!

Other recommendations: Eye Need A Miracle Concealer, Eye Am Here To Stay 24h Liquid Eyeliner
Shop them online at their website or in their pop-up shops nationwide. Their counters are also available in select department stores and Beauty Bar outlets.

DETAIL

(Photographed: Oval Foundation brush, Stannic Matte lipstick in “Pleades”)

Detail is a relatively new local brand that I’ve only recently discovered after their highly affordable matte liquid lipsticks went viral via BeautyMNL. My first purchase from their makeup line was their Stannic Matte lipstick in the shade “Pleades”. The Stannic line are metallic mattes (who knew?) that come in four shades (I’ve recently bought “Rigel”). They’re fairly drying, as I’ve come to expect from metallic lipsticks (my ColourPop ultra metallic lip is the same), and they settle into lip lines so use a lip balm and a primer beforehand. They also tend to crumble a bit at the edges of your lip. Wear time is fairly good (I’ve worn it 4-5 hours) and they’re mostly transfer-proof, although they do come off while eating. Retouching is a no-go, however; you’ll have to take off everything and reapply.

My better purchase from Detail was their Oval Foundation brush, because I’ve been thinking of purchasing oval brushes for foundation application and they had cheap versions. I’ve got no other oval brushes to compare it to, but I can say I love this one! It’s nicely dense and very soft, and blends out my foundation without streaking (if there is any, I can smooth it out with my Air Touch sponge). It’s also very easy to clean. If you’re looking for oval brushes that won’t break the bank, try the Detail ones! They have versions for blush and powder too.

Other recommendations: Detail Matte liquid lipsticks
Shop them here on BeautyMNL.

FS COSMETICS

I discovered Features and Shades Cosmetics unintentionally since I was searching the department store for foundation and buff brushes and I was in a hurry. (Also, I accidentally got the dual fibre powder brush instead of the buff brush, oops.) I didn’t even know they were local at first! The brushes are great quality, very soft, and apply products like a dream. The foundation one I use with my Revlon Colorstay 2-in-1 cream compact, while the powder one I use to apply my Innisfree No Sebum Mineral powder to my t-zone. They’re very comfortable to hold and come with sleek black handles. Deffo going to check out their other brushes soon!

Other recommendations: True Light Liquid Lipstick (comes with a small mirror on the side of the tube and light inside the cap!)
Check them out on their website and shop them in select department stores.

So please support your local cosmetics/beauty brands! You never know, you might just find your next holy grail product designed for Pinays, by Pinays.

Stay tuned for future episodes!

xx
thepinaybeautyjunkie

(All photos and opinions are mine; none of these are professional endorsements)

Leave a Reply

